The lesson of this week is that it is definitely easier to go ahead and run in the early morning than to try to fit it in somewhere else where it doesn't really go. Monday morning The Husband had to leave early for work, which means that I would have to have gotten up super early to go running while he was still home with the kiddos and, faced with a gray morning and buzzing alarm clock, I told him "I'll go running tonight instead."
When I woke up more fully, I knew that running after supper wasn't going to work. We both had big to-do lists for the evening, and shoehorning in a 30-minute run (before dark) and a shower just wasn't going to happen.
So I did it in our backyard.
It was not very pretty. I'm sure that Big Bit thought I had lost my mind as I paced around our yard and bobbed up and down the cement walkway with the world's slowest jog. I felt fortunate that we rarely see our neighbors. It was a little embarrassing, particularly to keep doing it for so long. But I did it anyway and it wasn't just a token gesture - I was sweating and my calves were burning by the end, so all's well, etc.
Wednesday morning, needless to say, I pulled myself out of bed on time (or roughly thereabouts) and took myself jogging.
The number: 254
No comments:
Post a Comment
Tips, recommendations, and sympathy deeply appreciated.